Fierce Ink Books is pleased to announce that they’ve obtained international rights for Mark Burley’s debut novel, Hit the Ground Running. The young adult novel is a gripping techno-thriller about a boy named Eric Bakker who’s pulled into a dangerous international conspiracy when he receives a mysterious and unsettling video from his missing brother. With the help of some new friends, Eric soon finds himself on a mission to save his family before they’re lost forever.

“I can’t wait to get started with Fierce Ink,” says Burley. “It’s an exciting time to be involved with this company, and I’m looking forward to taking this project to the next level.”

Hit the Ground Running will be published in November of 2016.

“If Hit the Ground Running is a predictor of things to come, Burley is destined to have a long, successful publishing career,” says Fierce Ink Books marketing director Sarah Sawler. “ With the perfect mix of intrigue, action, and technology, this novel will appeal to fans of The 39 Clues and Alex Rider series.”

About the Author

Mark is originally from Truro, Nova Scotia. His parents were teachers, which means he could have grown up around books, and he did, but mostly he marked biology tests for his dad and dissected whatever they had for dinner (true story). He attended Dalhousie University in Halifax to do his science degrees and continued to cultivate the writer seed planted as a kid. He’s always been involved in high-level sport, as an athlete through university and as a coach afterward, and he maintains that sport has given him the chance to succeed in art, something he’s sure he couldn’t have done otherwise. As a result, though, he eats the same breakfast every morning and he always puts his left shoe on first—bad things will happen if he doesn’t.


Aptitude4-4Fierce Ink Press is pleased to announce the September 15, 2015 publication of Natalie Corbett Sampson’s second novel, Aptitude.

Aptitude tells the story of Hessa Black, a young teacher who is unexpectedly arrested while marking assignments. Naive and confused, she’s swept away by the city’s authorities and imprisoned before she can even figure out what’s happening.

But doesn’t take long for her to piece it together once the Judicians visit her cell. Hessa is left alone with several horrific facts: A man she loves is dead. That man was not her husband. It was her fault. And she’s on trial for the crime.

Set in a dystopian future where everyone has a role to fulfill and no one is given a choice in their life’s path, Aptitude is the story of a young woman’s struggle to decide between two men — one that society chose for her, and one she’s fallen in love with.

“The impulsiveness and wistfulness of young love makes a stark contrast against the backdrop of Hessa’s harsh dystopian reality,” says marketing director Sarah Sawler. “The result is gripping.”

Book Launch

Natalie Corbett Sampson will celebrate the launch of Aptitude at the Halifax Central Library, on September 30 at 6:30 p.m.

Advance praise for Aptitude

“Akin to the haunting subtleties of Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale and Lowry’s The Giver, Natalie Corbett Sampson delivers in Aptitude a richly-imagined dystopian world, which seems scarily all too plausible.

Within a rigid hierarchical society where everyone is tested and classified according to their scores, and where those who are deemed unemployable are cast out, any misstep is punishable by imprisonment, banishment or death. Whether that be stepping outside the confines of one’s mandated life and career path or widening one’s world view by even the tiniest of increments.

Careful and conscientious, biddable and meek, answerable to her husband in all things, Hessa Black has lived her entire life by the rules, until now. She has fallen in love with a man who challenges all her beliefs, freeing and sentencing her at the same time.”

— Jo Treggiari, author of Ashes, Ashes

Can’t wait to grab your copy? Try your local indie bookstore, Indigo, AmazonKobo, or iTunes.


With the release of Aptitude just five days away, we think it’s time to give you a sneak peek of what’s to come. Find a comfy chair for the next three and a half minutes and check out this audio preview with young adult author Natalie Corbett Sampson. If you like what you hear, preorder today–and don’t forget to enter to win this amazing Aptitude Prize Pack:



So without further ado… here’s the Aptitude preview you’ve been waiting for!










Cause Natalie Corbett Sampson wants to know. Try your hand at this fun quiz (with its very special contestants):

Think you’ve got the answers? Post in the comments for a chance to win a Game Plan ebook!


Cover Reveal!

Guess what, everyone? In just one month, you could be holding Aptitude, the next release by Natalie Corbett Sampson, in your hot little hands. And it’s going to be a good one. After all, according to Jo Treggiari, author of Ashes, Ashes:

“Akin to the haunting subtleties of Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, and Lowry’s The Giver, Natalie Corbett Sampson delivers in Aptitude, a richly-imagined dystopian world which seems scarily all too plausible.”

It doesn’t get much better than that.

So to celebrate, we’ve decided to incorporate a contest into Aptitude’s preorder campaign, and we’re kicking it all off by revealing Aptitude’s gorgeous cover, created by Emma Dolan:



The Contest

The cover is amazing, but this contest is pretty cool, too. If you win, you’ll this awesome Aptitude Prize Pack:


Here’s how it works:

1. Preorder Aptitude from Indigo, Amazon, or your local indie bookstore.

2. Take a photo or a screen grab of the receipt.

3. Fill out the form below and upload your image.

Bonus Level: Preorder the book and share this post on Facebook or Twitter, and we’ll give you an extra entry. Simply provide the link to your share in the fillable form.



Fierce Ink Press Launches New Mystery Series by BR Myers

July 21, 2015

Fierce Ink Press is pleased to announce the June 21, 2015 publication of BR Myers’ Asp of Ascension. This title marks the beginning of a new mystery series by the popular young adult author. “We’re thrilled to release Asp of Ascension,” says marketing and communications executive Sarah Sawler. “Nefertari Hughes is a great character–smart and […]

Read the full article →

Cursed and Curated: The Asp of Ascension Blog Tour

July 14, 2015

Well kids, it’s that time again! Asp of Ascension by BR Myers comes out in just eight days and to celebrate, we’re hosting a blog tour packed with reviews, Q&A’s, and guest posts. Check it out: July 13: Calgary Kid Critic (review) July 14: A Portia Adams Adventure (review) July 15: Writing on Writing (guest […]

Read the full article →

New Fierce Short: Witches and Folklore with Wanda Taylor

July 14, 2015

When Wanda Taylor, former CBC producer and author of Birchtown and the Black Loyalists, was thirteen years old, she had a few things on her mind. Her flat chest and long feet certainly made the short list, but they were nothing compared to her top concerns: if any of her friends were overhearing the same […]

Read the full article →

Meet Nefertari Hughes

June 29, 2015

We’ve been talking here at Fierce Ink, and we decided that it’s not fair to make everyone wait until July 21st to meet Nefertari Hughes. So, in her infinite awesomeness, BR Myers herself put a little introduction together for the more curious among you. But we have to admit, we’re also using this video to lure […]

Read the full article →

B.R. Myers Shares Her Writing Process

June 4, 2015

Ever wonder how your favourite book came together? In this brand new video, B.R. Myers offers a glimpse at how Asp of Ascension came together. Get ready to be inspired! Can’t hardly wait? Preorder the book today. Great news! Our t-shirt campaign for Asp of Ascension has met its minimum number of orders to print! What […]

Read the full article →